50 Federal Lawmakers Write Tinubu, Demands Nnamdi Kanu's Release To Promote Peace In Southeast | #NwokeukwuMascot


 Mazi Nnamdi Kanu 

Fifty federal lawmakers from diverse political parties and regions in Nigeria have written to President Bola Tinubu, appealing for the release of Nnamdi Kanu, the leader of the Indigenous People of Biafra (IPOB).

The group of lawmakers are led Kanu’s federal representatives Hon. Obi Aguocha, Hon. Ikenga Imo Ugochinyere, and Hon. Zakari Nyampa.

The lawmakers urged the President to invoke Section 174 of the 1999 Constitution (as amended) and Section 107(1) of the Administration of Criminal Justice Act, 2015, to facilitate Kanu's release from detention.

They expressed belief that the action would significantly contribute to restoring peace in Southeast Nigeria.

Additionally, the lawmakers requested the President to initiate a presidential peace initiative to address the various challenges and issues affecting the region. Their appeal was outlined in a three-page letter dated June 19, 2024.

The lawmakers urged President Bola Tinubu to direct the Attorney-General of the Federation, Prince Lateef Fagbemi (SAN), to utilise his powers under Section 174(1) of the Constitution and Section 107(1) of the Administration of Criminal Justice Act 2015 to drop the charges against Kanu and secure his release from detention.

They noted that this gesture would pave the way for meaningful conversations on peace restoration, inclusivity, and addressing the underlying issues driving agitations.

The lawmakers pointed out that the President has extended similar courtesies to others, including Omoyele Sowore and Sunday Igboho, through the office of the Attorney General.

They lamented the dire situation in the Southeast, marked by security breakdown, economic downturn, displacement of families, and business closures.

By addressing these challenges, the lawmakers said, the President can demonstrate his commitment to upholding the principles of rule of law, justice, and fairness, which are essential to democracy.

This move would also set a precedent for resolving issues through dialogue, fostering peace initiatives, economic revitalisation, and a sense of belonging among South-East citizens, the lawmakers said. They expressed optimism that the President's positive response would cement his legacy as a champion of national unity, peace, and progress.

In their letter, the lawmakers said releasing Kanu “can serve as a pivotal gesture towards national unity as it would address some of the political, security and economic concerns in the region”.

The letter also reads, “It would encourage stakeholders from the Southeast to engage more actively in the national discussions on the renewed hope agenda thereby promoting inclusivity and addressing long-standing grievances.

“This we belief will also help in dismantling the apparatus of violence and restiveness that has plagued the region, allowing for a focus on economic growth and development.

“Also, it is coming at a time the nation-state is under enormous pressures, including but not limited to unemployment, insecurity, hunger and poverty, thereby deescalating tension from all sides.

"Moreso, we as key actors in the renewed hope agenda of Your Excellency are not unmindful of the fact that Your Excellency has extended this gesture through the office of the Attorney General in the charge involving Omoyele Sowore wherein, he was charged with treasonable felony in Charge No FHC/ABJ CR/235/2019, Sunday Igboho, etc.

“All these recorded tremendous successes especially the crisis within the North Central, North-Eastern, and South-South regions, not forgetting peace efforts in the Niger-Delta region which have helped in so many ways.

“The establishment of the North East Development Commission, Ministry of the Niger-Delta, Niger-Delta Development Commission, Presidential Amnesty, various host community laws, etc. were all commitments to show good faith to the plight of the people as well as resolving regional conflicts.”

They noted that they are convinced that “fixing the challenges in the South-East would go a long way in changing the narrative and showcase your commitment to upholding the principle of Rule of Law, Justice and Fairness, which are the bedrock of our democracy”.

They said the “benefits of such a bold and compassionate act are manifold”.

“It would pave the way for peace initiatives, economic revitalization and a renewed sense of belonging among the citizens of the southeast. It would also enhance your administration’s legacy as one that prioritizes national unity, peace and progress,” the lawmakers said.

“We are hopeful that you will consider this request with the gravity it deserves and take the necessary steps to bring about a new era of peace and inclusivity in Nigeria. Thank you, your Excellency for your attention to this important matter and we look forward to a positive response."

The listed signatories include Hon. Ikenga Imo Ugochinyere (Imo), Hon. Ikenga Ugochinyere (Imo), Hon. Aliyu Mustapha (Kaduna), Hon. Midala Balami (Borno), Hon. Afam Ogene (Anambra), Hon. Dominic Okafor (Anambra), Hon. Etanabene Benedict (Delta), Hon. Shehu Dalhatu (Katsina), Hon. Chinedu Emeka Martins (Imo), Hon. Matthew Nwogu (Imo), and Hon. Muhammed Buba Jagere (Yobe).

Others are Hon. Peter Aniekwe (Anambra), Hon. Koki Sagir (Kano), Hon. Amobi Oga (Abia), Hon. Gwacham Chinwe (Anambra), Hon. Uchenna Okonkwo (Anambra), Hon. Abdulmaleek Danga (Kogi), Hon. Osi Nkemkama (Ebonyi), Hon. Mark Useni (Taraba), Hon. Alexander Mascot (Abia), Hon. Philip Agbese (Benue), Hon. Ginger Onwusibe Obinna (Abia), Hon. Zakari Nyampa (Adamawa), Hon. Jamo Aminu (Katsina), among others.

Others are Hon. Emeka Idu Obiajulu (Anambra), Hon. Nnabuife Chinwe Clara (Anambra), Hon. Ukodhiko Jonathan (Delta), Hon. Akingbaso Olarewaju (Ondo), Hon. Lilian Obiageli Orogbu (Anambra), Hon. Marcus Onobu (Edo), Hon. Chinedu Obika (FCT Abuja), Hon. Billy Osawaru (Edo), Hon.Ojuawo Rufus Adeniyi (Ekiti), Hon. Okoli Ngozi Lawrence (Delta), Hon.Ezechi Nnamdi (Delta), Hon. Alozie Munachim Ikechi(Abia), Hon. Nkwonta Chris (Abia), Hon. Nnamchi Paul Sunday (Enugu), Hon. Obetta Mark Chidi (Enugu), Hon. Tochi Okere Chinedu (Imo), Hon. Uguru Emmanuel (Ebonyi), Hon. Joseph Nwaobasi (Ebonyi), Hon. Onwugbu Befford Anayo (Enugu), Hon. Atu Chimaobi Sam (Enugu), and Hon. Sunday Cyriacus Umeha (Enugu).

#HoR #NASS #FreeMaziNnamdiKanu #IPOB #Biafra


Popular posts from this blog

BREAKING: Governor Otti Suspends Health Commissioner Over Financial Impropriety | #NwokeukwuMascot

Otti Adds More Names on Transition Committee List, Following Social Media Outcry on Plans To Disfranchise Ukwa-Ngwa People | #NwokeukwuMascot

VIDEO: Mixed reactions as controversial, crossdresser, James Brown s3x tape leaks.