Tems wins, Afrobeats stars Burna Boy, Ayra Starr, Asake leave 2024 BET Awards empty-handed | #NwokeukwuMascot


File Image

Tems, Burna Boy, Asake, and Ayra Starr, with BET Awards

Several Afrobeats artistes were nominated across various categories at the 2024 BET Awards ceremony, with only Tems taking home one award.

The 2024 BET Awards, hosted by American Actress Taraji P Henson, took place Sunday at the Peacock Theater in Los Angeles.

BET, or Black Entertainment Television, is known for celebrating African American culture and excellence in various fields, including music, entertainment, movies, sports, and philanthropy. 

The network highlights and supports Black creators, artists, and performers, aiming to provide a platform for voices and talents often underrepresented in mainstream media.

Ayra Starr, nominated in three categories, lost the ‘Best New Artist’ and ‘Best International Act’ awards to South African artist Tyla. 

She also missed the ‘BET Her Award,’ which went to American singer Victoria Monét.

Burna Boy, another prominent Afrobeats artist, was nominated in two categories. 

He lost the ‘Best Male R&B/Pop Artist’ to Usher and the ‘Best Male Hip Hop Artist’ to American rapper Kendrick Lamar.

Tems was also nominated in two categories and secured one award.

She lost the ‘Video Director of the Year’ to American music video editor Cole Bennett. However, she secured the award for the ‘Dr. Bobby Jones Best Gospel/Inspirational Award’ for her single ‘Me & U’.

Other Afrobeats nominees included Asake and Seyi Vibez, nominated for one category each. 

Asake lost the ‘Best International Act’ award to South African artist Tyla, while Seyi Vibez lost his first-ever BET nomination, the ‘Viewers’ Choice Best International Act’, to South African artist Makhadzi.

Album of the Year:

 – Chris Brown, “11:11”

 – Gunna, “A Gift & A Curse”

 – 21 Savage, “American Dream”

 – Usher, “Coming Home”

 – Drake, “For All the Dogs (Scary Hours Edition)”

 – Victoria Monét, “Jaguar II”

 – Winner:Killer Mike, “Michael”

Best Female R&B/Pop Artist:

 – Beyoncé

 – Coco Jones

 – Doja Cat

 – H.E.R.

 – Muni Long

 – Winner:SZA

Best Male R&B/Pop Artist:

 – Brent Faiyaz

 – Bryson Tiller

 – Burna Boy

 – Chris Brown

 – Drake

 – Fridayy

 – October London


Best Group:

 – 2 Chainz & Lil Wayne

 – 41

 – Blxst & Bino Rideaux

 – City Girls

 – Flo

 – Maverick City Music

 – Wanmor

 – Winner: ¥$, Ye, Ty Dolla $ign

Best Collaboration:

 – Beyoncé feat. Kendrick Lamar, “America Has a Problem (Remix)”

 – Nicki Minaj & Ice Spice (With Aqua), “Barbie World”

 – Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion, “Bongos”

 – ¥$, Ye, Ty Dolla $ign feat. Rich The Kid, Playboi Carti, “Carnival”

 – Lola Brooke feat. Latto & Yung Miami, “Don’t Play With It (Remix)”

 – Nicki Minaj feat. Lil Uzi Vert, “Everybody”

 – Usher, Summer Walker & 21 Savage, “Good Good”

 – Drake feat. Sexyy Red & SZA, “Rich Baby Daddy”

 – Winner: Lil Durk feat. J. Cole, “All My Life”

Best Female Hip-Hop Artist:

 – Cardi B

 – Doja Cat

 – GloRilla

 – Ice Spice

 – Latto

 – Megan Thee Stallion

 – Winner: Nicki Minaj

 – Sexyy Red

Best Male Hip-Hop Artist:

 – 21 Savage

 – Burna Boy

 – Drake

 – Future

 – Gunna

 – J. Cole

 -Winner: Kendrick Lamar

 – Lil Wayne

Best New Artist:

 – 41

 – 4Batz

 – Ayra Starr

 – Bossman Dlow

 – Fridayy

 – October London

 – Sexyy Red

 – Winner: Tyla

Video of the Year:

 – Doja Cat, “Agora Hills”

 – Lil Durk feat J. Cole, “All My Life”

 – Nicki Minaj & Ice Spice (With Aqua), “Barbie World”

 – Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion, “Bongos”

 – Drake feat. J. Cole, “First Person Shooter”

 – Usher, Summer Walker & 21 Savage, “Good Good”

 – Drake feat. Sexyy Red & SZA, “Rich Baby Daddy”

 – Winner:Victoria Monét, “On My Mama”

Video Director of the Year:

 – Benny Boom

 – Child.

 – Cole Bennett

 – Dave Meyers

 – Janelle Monáe & Alan Ferguson

 – Offset

 – Tems

 – Tyler, The Creator

 – Winner:Cole Bennett

Dr. Bobby Jones Best Gospel/Inspirational Award:

 – Shirley Caesar, “Award All of the Glory”

 – Kirk Franklin, “All Things”

 – Halle Bailey, “Angel”

 – CeCe Winans, “Come Jesus Come”

 – Erica Campbell, Do You Believe in Love?”

 – Maverick City Music, Naomi Raine & Chandler Moore, “God Problems”

 – Kirk Franklin, “Try Love”

 – Winner:Tems, “Me & U”

BET Her Award:

 – Beyoncé, “16 Carriages”

 – Nicki Minaj feat. Tasha Cobbs Leonard, “Blessings”

 – Ayra Starr, “Commas”

 – Flo feat. Missy Elliott, “Fly Girl”

 – Megan Thee Stallion, “Hiss”

 – SZA, “Saturn”

 – GloRilla, “Yeah Glo!”

 – Winner:Victoria Monét, “On My Mama”

Best International Act:

 – Asake (Africa)

 – Aya Nakamura (France)

 – Ayra Starr (Africa)

 – Bk’ (Brazil)

 – Cleo Sol (UK)

 – Focalistic (Africa)

 – Karol Conká (Brazil)

 – Raye (UK)

 – Tiakola (France)

 – Winner:Tyla (Africa)

Viewer’s Choice Award:

 – Doja Cat, “Agora Hills”

 – Lil Durk feat. J. Cole, “All My Life”

 – Gunna, “Fukumean”

 – Jack Harlow, “Lovin on Me”

 – Muni Long, “Made for Me”

 – Victoria Monét, “On My Mama”

 – Drake feat. Sexyy Red & SZA, “Rich Baby Daddy”

 – Chris Brown feat. Davido & Lojay, “Sensational”

 – Winner:Beyoncé, “Texas Hold ‘Em”

 – Tyla, “Water”

Viewer’s Choice: Best New International Act:

 – Bellah (UK)

 – Cristale (UK)

 – Duquesa (Brazil)

 – Holly G (France)

 – Jungeli (France)

 – Makhadzi (Africa)

 – Oruam (Brazil)

 – Seyi Vibez (Africa)

 – Tyler Icu (Africa)

 – Winner: Makhadzi (Africa)

YoungStars Award:

 – Akira Akbar

 – Winner: Blue Ivy Carter

 – Demi Singleton

 – Heiress Diana Harris

 – Jabria McCullum

 – Jalyn Hall

 – Leah Jeffries

 – Van Van

Sportswoman of the Year Award:

 – A’ja Wilson

 – Winner: Angel Reese

 – Coco Gauff

 – Flau’jae Johnson

 – Juju Watkins

 – Naomi Osaka

 – Sha’carri Richardson

 – Simone Biles

Sportsman of the Year Award:

 – Anthony Edwards

 – Gervonta Davis

 – Winner: Jalen Brunson

 – Jalen Hurts

 – Kyrie Irving

 – LeBron James

 – Patrick Mahomes

 – Stephen Curry


Popular posts from this blog

BREAKING: Governor Otti Suspends Health Commissioner Over Financial Impropriety | #NwokeukwuMascot

Otti Adds More Names on Transition Committee List, Following Social Media Outcry on Plans To Disfranchise Ukwa-Ngwa People | #NwokeukwuMascot

VIDEO: Mixed reactions as controversial, crossdresser, James Brown s3x tape leaks.