Breaking: 27 Rivers PDP Lawmakers Defect To APC, States Reason


 File Image 

As the crisis in the Rivers State House of Assembly appears to worsen, 27 members said to be loyal to the Minister of Federal Capital Territory and immediate past governor of the state, Mr Nyesom Wike have defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

The lawmakers announced their defection on Monday at the plenary, citing division in their party - Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) - as the reason for the move.

The lawmakers led by Martin Amaewhule had initiated impeachment proceedings against Governor Siminalayi Fubara, but the move failed.

The crisis recently led to the burning of the State Assembly complex and factionalised the lawmakers into camps.

Meanwhile, the members of the House during a plenary on Monday, passed for Second Reading the Local Government (Amendment) Bill 2023 among other legislative activities.

The crisis followed a reported disagreement between Governor Fubara and his predecessor, political godfather and now Minister of Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Nyesom Wike.

Despite the peace brokered by President Bola Tinubu, the situation does not appear to have abated.

The crisis has led to the emergence of two factional Speakers – Martins Amaehule, who is loyal to Wike; and Edison Ehie, a strong supporter of Fubara.

Fubara returned to the state after the peace meeting in Abuja with the President and apologised for the anxiety caused following the crisis.

He assured that he was ready to embrace peace to foster growth in the state.

Wike also insisted that there was no bad blood between them. 


Popular posts from this blog

BREAKING: Governor Otti Suspends Health Commissioner Over Financial Impropriety | #NwokeukwuMascot

Otti Adds More Names on Transition Committee List, Following Social Media Outcry on Plans To Disfranchise Ukwa-Ngwa People | #NwokeukwuMascot

VIDEO: Mixed reactions as controversial, crossdresser, James Brown s3x tape leaks.